Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
7

One Line, One Love: Terri Tomoff

Episode 17: Manufacturing Sunshine
7

Author: Terri Tomoff

Book: The Focused Fight: A Childhood Cancer Journey: From Mayhem to Miracles

One Line: Never underestimate the power of a chocolate chip cookie, or a hand written note.

Terri sums up this line:

I chose this line because it illuminates the power of community and connection.

5 Truths About Terri:

  • I am an avid and award-winning quilter who parlayed the making of quilts into a business, NeedleOnFull, that comprises long-- arming for others on my Handi-Quilter Avanté and T-shirt Quilts using any fabric I can get my needles through to fashion a custom-made treasured keepsake.

  • I write daily, except for (3) weeks after recovering from Uterine Cancer Surgery in Feb. 2021; I haven't missed a day in four years.

  • Athletics have been a blessing since I began running (sprints) at eight. I ran cross-country and track and field in high school and college but then fell in love with long-distance running - marathons/half-marathons and triathlons (more sprint ones). In 1977, at age 15, I competed in the Polish Olympic Games in Kraków, Poland, winning two gold medals in the 100M and 400M dashes.

  • An astute soccer fan, I became a USSF and Federation (high school) Soccer Referee in 2010. To date, I've refereed over to 2,000 youth and adult soccer matches.

  • And lastly, Travel and Adventure have been my healing superpowers. Not only do I travel for pleasure and to immerse myself in the cultures with my visits, but I've also traveled to Puerto Rico and Ethiopia, delivering quilts to Children's Hospitals (in conjunction with my quilting bees and quilt guild). This past fall, while visiting Maui, Hawaii, after the Lahaina fires, I drummed up more quilts from my guild and area churches and sent close to (30) quilts to the survivors of the fires through the Maui Quilt Shop.

    If there are dark clouds in my life, my best bet is to Manufacture Sunshine when I can. There is enough strife in the world that being upbeat helps me even on my darkest days. There is always something to be grateful for, bar none.


Visit Terri at:
territomoff.com
https://linktr.ee/territomoff

Terri’s Prompt Invitation

Write a haiku about a sunset.
A Haiku is a poem in three lines with a 5-7-5 syllable count.

One Line, One Love believes in baby steps.
Sharing your writing is the first step toward pursuing your writing dream. 
C’mon — Shine!
Join us with your poem in the comment section below. 

7 Comments